top of page

Welcome to

The website of the UK National Heat Transfer Committee

The 18th UK Heat Transfer Conference.jpg

The 18th UK Heat Transfer Conference

9-11 September 2024

The University of Birmingham, UK

The 18th edition of the UK Heat Transfer Conference will be hosted by the University of Birmingham in September 2024. The conference will be chaired by Dr Raya Al-Dadah (chair) and Dr Adriano Sciacovelli (co-chair)

The call for abstracts is currently open with a deadline of March 1st 2024. Join us for keynote lectures delivered by eminent figures from academia and industry, alongside special sessions and presentations on the latest development in heat transfer.


Virtual Workshop on High Temperature Thermal Energy Storage

19th February 2021


The aim of this Virtual Workshop is to bring together the academic communities interested in thermal energy storage, thermo-fluid engineering and process engineering to discuss recent advancements in latent heat and thermochemical TES for high temperature applications, and discuss how to we may work together to address the challenges.


The focus will be on state-of-the-art development and thermo-fluid and thermo-chemical performance of TES components (e.g. heat exchangers, heat intensification inserts, enhanced TES materials, reactors, etc) as well as process integration aspects. 

Geoffrey Hewitt Prize for Best PhD Thesis

21st January 2019


The UK National Committee for Heat Transfer recognizes excellence in Heat Transfer Research offering to students and researchers active in UK Universities in the field of heat transfer a series of prizes.

Read the announcement of the second ‘Geoffrey F. Hewitt Prize for best PhD thesis in Heat Transfer’, to be awarded at the UK National Heat Transfer Conference in September 2021

The 16th UK Heat Transfer Conference - Report

8-1 September 2019

Nottingham University.jpg

The 16th UK Heat Transfer Conference was held at the University of Nottingham on 8th-10th September 2019, Chaired by Professor Yuying Yan.

The scientific programme consisted of more than 160 oral presentations and 30 posters dealing with various aspects of Heat Transfer, from fundamentals to applications. 

Workshop - Heat Transfer in the UK

21st January 2019

Workshop image.png

The UK National Heat Transfer Committee has hosted a one-day workshop on: “Heat Transfer Research, Education and Practice in the UK” on 25th April 2019 at the Roundhouse in Derby.

The workshop was attended by over 100 participants from both Industry and Academia and provided a unique opportunity for the UK Heat Transfer Community to discuss the present and the future of research, industry and education.

John Rose awarded the Max Jakob Award by ASME

21st January 2019

John Rose.jpg

Professor John Rose, a UKNHTC Member, has been selected to receive the 2018 Max Jakob Memorial Award, bestowed jointly by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers in recognition eminent and distinguished service and contributions in the area of heat and mass transfer.




UKNHTC Newsletter


The mission of UK National Heat Transfer Committee is to advance the development and exchange of knowledge in the Heat Transfer field.

THe committee

Learn more abut the Officers and Elected Members of the UK National Heat Transfer Committee 


Keep up to date with the activities of the Committee and the news from the world of Heat Transfer 

bottom of page