Geoffrey F. Hewitt Prize

Best PhD Thesis submitted to UK Universities


Professor Geoffrey F. Hewitt, FRS, FREng was a pioneer and recognised world leader in multi-phase flow and heat transfer with unparalleled achievements in these two fields.

To honour Geoff's memory as a Founding Member of the UK National Heat Transfer Committee and its longest serving Chairman, the Committee is pleased to announce the “Geoffrey F. Hewitt Prize for best PhD thesis in Heat Transfer”. 

A panel of UKNHTC Members, chaired by Professor David Reay, and supported by Professor Joe Quarini and Dr. Alan Deakin, will review the submissions and decide the winner.

The prize

The prize, awarded every two years at the UK Heat Transfer Conference Dinner, consists of £500, a plaque and free admission to the UK Heat Transfer Conference following the announcement of the award.


PhD theses submitted to UK Universities in the period between 1st January 2019 and 31st December 2020 where the main topic is Heat Transfer will be eligible for the Prize.


An electronic copy of the PhD thesis and a support letter from the Supervisor explaining the merits of the work need to be sent to with a copy to on or before 31st March 2021. Submissions received after this date will not be considered for the award that will be presented at the UK Heat Transfer Conference at Manchester in September 2021.

Past Winners

2019 - Dr. Sahin Yigit