The Nusselt-Reynolds Prize: Call for Prenominations

The Nusselt-Reynolds Prize has been established by the Assembly of World Conferences to commemorate outstanding contributions by Wilhelm Nusselt and Osborne Reynolds as experimentalists, researchers, educators, and authors. As many as three prizes may be bestowed at every World Conference, one in each of the areas of heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, or any combination of these.

The prize shall be bestowed for outstanding scientific and engineering contributions and eminent achievements in the fields of heat transfer, fluid mechanics, and thermodynamics through (1) experimental studies and analytical/numerical extension of the measurements, (2) development of experimental techniques, visualization techniques, and/or instrumentation, and/or (3) development of design theory (that needs experimental data) and theory based experimental correlations. These contributions should yield a deeper insight into physical phenomena involved or should yield significant technological advances. In addition to research, the awardee(s) should have made outstanding contributions to the field through teaching, design, or a combination of such activities. The prize is based on achievement through publications or through the application of the science or art. Nationality, age, sex, and society membership shall not be considered when evaluating qualifications of candidates. A candidate must be living at the time of designation as a recipient of the prize.

More informaiton can be found at:

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

©2017-2019 UK National Heat Transfer Committee