Heat Transfer Research, Education and Practice in the UK - Registration is now open!

Registration is now open for the one-day Workshop “Heat Transfer Research, Education and Practice in the UK” organised by the UKNHTC on 25th April 2019 at the Roundhouse in Derby, UK. The Workshop is free to attend but registration is required. Please follow this link to register. ABOUT THE WORKSHOP

The Workshop will bring together Academia and Industry to discuss current status, needs and outlook for the Heat Transfer field in the UK and will feature an initial presentation reporting the finding of a UKNHTC sponsored research on the current status of the Heat Transfer field in the UK and panel discussions with invited expert speakers on the following topics:

  1. Cooling of Electronics – Moderator: Professor Tassos Karayiannis, Brunel University London and Professor Khellil Sefiane, University of Edinburgh

  2. Process Heat Transfer and Process Intensification – Moderators: Professor Peter Heggs, Leeds University and Dr. Alan Deakin, BP (retired)

  3. Industrial Requirements for Heat Transfer Education – Moderator: Professor Peter Kew, Heriot-Watt University

  4. Thermal Management in Vehicles – Moderator: Professor David Reay, David Reay Associates and Newcastle University

  5. Thermal Energy Storage – Moderator: Professor Christos Markides, Imperial College London

Each panel will feature 4-5 panellists with a balanced mix of Academia and Industry representatives. The Workshop is supported by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, the Institution of Chemical Engineers, the Heat Transfer Society and will be co-located with the Thermal Engineering Show. It will provide a unique opportunity for the UK Heat Transfer Community to discuss the present and the future of research, industry and education. The output of the event will be a report summarising the current status of the industry, the key outcomes of the panel discussions and a future outlook for the field.


Dr. Francesco Coletti, Chair

Dr. Richard Law, Co-chair



Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

©2017-2019 UK National Heat Transfer Committee