top of page

Report from the 15th UK Heat Transfer Conference - Brunel University London

The 15th UK Heat Transfer Conference was held at Brunel University London on 4th-5th September 2017. The conference, organised under the aegis of the UK National Heat Transfer Committee, is the premier forum in the UK for the local and international heat transfer community to meet, disseminate ongoing work and discuss the latest advances in the Heat Transfer field. This year, the conference was Chaired by Professor Tassos Karayiannis and co-chaired by Dr. Carola König and Dr. Francesco Coletti. It is part of a long and successful series that traces his origins back to 1984 and follows the 2013 edition held at Imperial College London and the 2015 edition at the University of Edinburgh.

THE KEYNOTES Professor Geoff Rogers, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation), opened the conference providing an overview of current research developments in the UK against a changing environment (presentation slides). This was followed by a tribute to the memory of the late Professor D. B. Spalding (Imperial College London) by Professor Brian Launder (University of Manchester) and three invited keynote lectures:


The scientific programme consisted of 100 oral presentations and 20 posters dealing with various aspects of heat transfer, from fundamentals to applications.The conference was well attended from both academia and industry, with the participation of over 140 scientific delegates from 28 different countries. The industrial contribution (including papers authored by Rolls Royce, EDF, BP, Repsol, Calgavin and Hexxcell amongst others) was particularly well received, with a number of exhibitors showcasing their technologies. The conference proved to be a lively environment for the Heat Transfer Community to meet, present the latest advances and exchange ideas.


Selected papers from the conference will be published on special issues of Heat Transfer Engineering and Thermal Science and Engineering Progress.


The next edition will be held at Nottingham University in 2019.

bottom of page